Second Thoughts

We have all had second thoughts for just about anything and everything. For example, if I was at a gas station, and I  have three bucks to spend. Do I  get candy, or chips? Something salty or sweet? Or should I just save my money because that’s all I have in my bank account right now until the 20th? (I literally just described my current situation lol stop judging me) I’m the absolute worst at making decisions by the way. So if  you can relate to me, then you should definitely be able to relate to peter.

Peter was a disciple of Jesus and a fisherman to say the least. He was also a very stubborn guy. In Mathew 14:25-31 Peter and the other disciples were on a boat in the middle of the sea getting hit by waves and heavy winds. Jesus had just got done praying and decided to join his followers in the sea. The disciples were frightened at first sight and didn’t think it was Jesus! So peter says in matt. 14:28-29  28 And Peter answered him and said ” lord, if it is You, command me to come to you on the water.” 29 So Jesus  said “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus.

So up to this point, it seems like Peter has  completely set himself  in walking  towards Jesus,  in the middle of the sea, in darkness, with strong winds, and wild waves coming his way. I know what you are thinking. This dude is either really  desperate to be with Jesus or just completely stupid.

 Maybe you have come to a point in your life where you are experiencing uncertainty. Maybe you have wasted time trying to fill voids in your life. Your circumstances at the moment may even look a lot like Peter’s. Even with heavy winds, darkness, and wild waves possibly surrounding your life today, Jesus is saying ComeMatt. 11:28 says 28 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.” It’s difficult letting go of  burdens when you have dealt with them  your own way for so long and have somehow gotten attached to them instead of fixing them all. But God is saying right here, right now, “COME and I’ll give you rest.” Follow me on this.

In Matthew 14:30 it says 30 But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried “Lord, save me!” Peter probably had a good few steps walking towards Jesus  before he began to have second thoughts. He probably began to notice the heavy wind, and the fact that he was standing on a huge body of water. Peter’s focus shifted from Jesus, to his surroundings and that’s what caused him to fall into the deep sea.gpnovprp0s8-saksham-gangwar.jpg

Jesus told peter “COME” he did not say “come and bring your fear and doubt with you.” He said “COME!” I don’t understand why we have made following Jesus so complicated in this time we are living in. It’s unnecessary to try to gather up your baggage and start playing clean up with your sin and mistakes before you start to focus on Christ. Jesus wants you for everything that you are as of now. Your PRESENT is more important to God than your PAST because now you are giving him access to your FUTURE! Gods vision for our life is divine and you can rest assured that he will always be on time! Just look at  what the next verse says Matt. 14:31 “And immediately Jesus stretched out his hand and caught him and said “ O you of little faith, why did you doubt?”  Jesus immediately saved peter from drowning.

Jesus is always present and his timing is perfect. His word says in Psalms 86:7  When I am in distress, I call to you, because you answer me. If you have been having second thoughts of your current situation, Jesus is at the other side of your storm  and he’s saying “come.” Yes there is going to be wind, the waves might shake you up a bit, and you might even fall. But that is the beauty of it. Your fall only gets you one step closer to Jesus and one step closer to your new life  in Christ. So if you have not done so already, place your focus back on Jesus. Surrender your life to him today. Don’t wait any longer. Tomorrow is never promised. I pray this blog  blesses somebody’s life in Jesus name.

Thanks for reading! God bless.


Leave a comment